Florida law requires that every motorist carry personal injury protection (PIP) and property damage liability (PDL). It does not require that you have uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage, but you do have to opt out of it if you do not want it. Since Florida is a no-fault insurance state, your personal injury protection coverage covers you in an accident, even if it is not your fault.
Florida Insurance Requirements
Florida requires you to have at least $10,000 in PIP and $10,000 in PDL coverage. You must keep insurance on your vehicle, even if you are not driving it or if it is not operable. If you are not going to register the vehicle again, you have to surrender the tag before you cancel the insurance. Finally, you have to keep Florida insurance on your vehicle regardless of where the vehicle is located, as long as you have a valid Florida registration. If you move out of state, keep your vehicle registered and insured in Florida until you register and insure the vehicle in your new state.
More Coverage In The Long Run
For a free legal consultation, call 321-503-4014
Uninsured motorist coverage gives you another level of protection when an uninsured or underinsured motorist is at fault in an accident. Chances are, if the person does not have insurance, he or she does not have much in the way of assets for you to sue for, so the extra insurance gives you more toward your claim for damages.
Uninsured motorist insurance also covers you if the person who hits you is underinsured. An underinsured driver is someone who does have insurance, but the coverage is not enough to cover all of the damages you are entitled to.
Suing the At-Fault Driver
Sometimes injuries cause long-term disabilities, and your insurance is not enough to cover the cost of past and future medical expenses, past and future lost wages, replacement of damaged or destroyed personal property, pain and suffering, or other damages you are entitled to. You can make a claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance company – if he or she has insurance, or you can sue the at-fault driver. However, if that driver does not have enough cash or assets to cover your damages between his or her insurance company and assets, you are stuck with what your insurance covers and the minimal amount the underinsured driver’s insurance covers. Having underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage gives you a bit more protection when you need it most.
Will Uninsured Motorist Insurance Help Cover Other Expenses?
The amount of uninsured motorist insurance that you can buy cannot exceed the amount of coverage you have under your primary liability coverage. Many people insure their vehicles for the lowest amount possible, so the uninsured motorist coverage is also very low. When considering or choosing an uninsured motorist insurance, it’s important to go over all of your insurance policies together, so you know how you’re covered.
Contact Andrew Pickett Law
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
When you get into an auto accident, the last thing you want to think about is having to deal with the insurance company. Even if you have enough insurance to cover your damages, the insurance company – even though you pay it – will try to deny your claim or offer you the lowest amount possible. Insurance companies, including your own, are in business to make money.
Instead of taking a chance on not getting enough money to cover damages, including loss of consortium, loss of companionship, inconvenience, and therapy expenses, contact us for a free consultation. We will help you file your claim, and if your insurance company refuses to offer you a fair and reasonable settlement, we will help you choose whether to continue negotiations or start litigation. Don’t be in the dark when it comes to your insurance coverage; call us today to learn more. (321)-503-4014