By Florida law, all drivers must carry at least $10,000 in PIP coverage with their auto insurance policies. Because the state follows no-fault laws, this part of auto insurance is meant to cover the costs of medical expenses if a person is injured in an accident. This is the case regardless of who is at fault for a car accident. However, if PIP coverage isn’t sufficient to fully cover a person’s medical expenses, they may be able to file a lawsuit directly against the at-fault driver.
Definition of Personal Injury Protection Coverage
The definition of personal injury protection coverage or PIP is a no-fault insurance portion of an auto insurance policy. Its purpose is to cover the costs of medical expenses for anyone in a vehicle involved in an accident who suffers injuries. It also covers the costs of lost wages if anyone injured misses time off from work to recover from their injuries.
Need free legal help in Florida? Call 321-617-1080 today!
Types of PIP Coverage in Florida
Different types of PIP coverage exist in Florida. They include medical expenses, disability benefits, death benefits, essential services, funeral expenses and lost wages.
Florida’s PIP insurance coverage pays for up to 80% of all medical expenses for individuals injured in a car accident. Anything related to the accident is covered up to $10,000. This includes medical bills, hospital bills, doctor’s visits, dental work, ambulance rides and anything else that’s relevant. PIP pays for medical expenses as long as the injured person receives treatment within 14 days of the accident.
If a person is injured in a car accident to the point of disability and cannot work, their PIP insurance can cover up to 60% of their wages up to $10,000. Disability benefits are available to those who must miss work temporarily while recuperating from their injuries or who have sustained permanent injuries that prevent them from returning to work.
In Florida, PIP coverage also provides death benefits to the surviving family members of loved ones who die in a car accident. The cost covered is $5,000 for each person, but this doesn’t count toward the $10,000 limit for PIP coverage.
Essential services are regular daily household necessities such as home cleaning, childcare and more. If a person suffers injuries serious enough that they cannot tend to these matters themselves, their Florida PIP insurance can cover the costs.
If a person is killed due to the injuries they sustained in a car accident, PIP coverage can pay for the funeral expenses. This relieves the family of some of the financial burden associated with their tragic loss.
PIP insurance coverage can pay the costs of lost wages after a person is injured and is unable to work. This coverage pays 60% of your total income during the time you are out of work.
What Does Florida PIP Insurance Cover?
Florida PIP insurance covers 80% of all your medical expenses up to $10,000 if you were injured in a car accident regardless of who was at fault. It also covers death benefits at $5,000, household and other important services, lost wages and funeral expenses.
Facing a legal challenge in Florida? Let us help you for free.
Contact one of our personal injury lawyers today!
Benefits of PIP Coverage
There are certain benefits available with PIP coverage. They include medical bills and costs, funeral expenses, death benefits and other financial benefits.
Medical Bills and Costs
If you suffer a personal injury in a car accident, regardless of whether you or another driver was at fault, you can receive coverage for your medical bills and ongoing necessary medical treatment from your PIP insurance. PIP covers such expenses at up to $10,000 per person per accident.
PIP insurance includes coverage for funeral expenses. If a person is killed in a car accident, regardless of who was at fault, their survivors can be relieved of some of the financial responsibility thanks to PIP coverage.
If a person dies after a car accident, PIP insurance can provide their surviving family members death benefits. This amounts to $5,000 per person killed per accident and is separate from the $10,000 PIP coverage limit.
Other Financial Benefits
Other financial benefits PIP insurance provides are household services. This may include areas like housekeeping and childcare if you sustain car accident injuries that render you unable to take care of these tasks yourself.
Need free legal help in Florida?
Complete a Free Case Evaluation Form
Eligibility for PIP Coverage in Florida
Certain criteria make people eligible for PIP coverage in Florida. Those are meeting driver’s liability insurance requirements and vehicle ownership requirements.
Driver’s Liability Insurance Requirements
In order to be eligible for Florida PIP coverage, drivers must meet the state’s liability insurance requirements. This includes property damage liability (PDL) coverage of at least $10,000, which must be added as soon as a person registers their vehicle.
Vehicle Ownership Requirements
When a person in Florida registers their vehicle, they must carry both PIP and PDL coverage. They must have at least $10,000 in coverage for both and must continue carrying PIP and PDL even if they aren’t driving their vehicle or the vehicle is inoperable.
How to File a Claim for PIP Coverage in Florida
It’s important to know how to file a claim for PIP coverage in Florida. To do that, you should also have other information readily at hand, including what steps to take after an accident occurs, how to claim forms and documentation and how to receive PIP benefits.
Steps to Take After an Accident Occurs
Regardless of who’s at fault, after a car accident, it’s important to take certain steps. First, you should get to a safe spot so that you’re no longer on the road in the path of traffic. Check yourself and your passengers, if you have any, for injuries.
Even if you feel fine, you should still seek medical attention within the same day of an accident. Doing so gives you a record of treatment that can be used as evidence in a car accident claim. You can also find out if you have sustained an injury and receive the treatment you need.
Call 911 and remain at the scene of the accident. Leaving can result in hit-and-run charges even if you were not at fault. When police arrive, make sure to ask where to obtain a copy of the accident report for your own records.
Exchange information with the other driver or drivers involved in the accident. Never admit fault or even apologize; it can be misconstrued and later used against you if another driver decides to file a lawsuit.
Look for witnesses and get their names and contact information. Ask to record their statements regarding the events of the accident. Take photos of the accident scene and jot down anything you recall from the accident. This information can be valuable evidence.
Contact your insurance company and inform an agent that you were in an accident. You don’t have to give specific details, but informing is enough to help when you plan on filing a claim with your insurer.
Submitting Claim Forms and Documentation
When you submit a claim with your insurance company, you must include all evidence to show what happened. Your medical records and bills, photos of the accident, the police report and witness statements are all things to include as they can strengthen your claim. Your insurance company should have its own set of forms for you to complete. Once you have completed all the information and added your documentation, you can submit them.
Receiving PIP Benefits
If you follow the proper procedures after submitting your claim, you should be able to receive your PIP benefits. You must see a doctor for medical care within 14 days of your car accident to be eligible for those benefits. If you fail to get medical care within that time, your claim may be denied.
Frequently Asked Questions
What Is the New PIP Law in Florida 2023?
In Florida in 2023, the new PIP law requires all drivers to provide proof of bodily injury coverage. This is mandatory before any person can register a vehicle.
What Is the Difference Between Bodily Injury and Personal Liability in Florida?
Florida’s bodily injury coverage applies when a person is at fault for a car accident so that others can be reimbursed for their damages. Personal liability covers the driver’s own expenses after an accident regardless of who’s at fault.
What Is the PIP Offset in Florida?
Drivers at fault for car accidents in Florida can get a PIP offset of up to $10,000 for liability.
Can You Reject PIP in Florida?
In Florida, you cannot reject PIP. It’s mandatory for all drivers to carry this coverage in the event of an accident.
What Is the Maximum PIP Coverage in Florida?
The maximum PIP coverage in Florida is $10,000. However, if you opt for a higher deductible, you can reduce your premium.
Who Is Eligible for PIP Benefits in Florida?
In Florida, drivers who are responsible and have PIP coverage with their auto insurance policy are eligible for PIP benefits.
What Is the Personal Injury Limitation Period in Florida?
The personal injury limitation period in Florida is four years from the date of the injury sustained in a car accident.
Is Florida a No-Fault State for Personal Injury?
Florida is a no-fault state for personal injury stemming from car accidents.
What Happens if I Don’t Have Bodily Injury Coverage in Florida?
If you don’t have bodily injury coverage in Florida, you are responsible for paying all damages to anyone who suffers injuries in an accident for which you are at fault. You also risk being subject to fines and having your license suspended.
Is PIP Going to Be Means-Tested 2023?
As of 2023, PIP coverage is still tax-free and not means-tested, so you can qualify for it as part of your auto insurance regardless of your income or whether or not you even work.
What Is the Florida PIP 14-Day Rule?
Florida’s 14-day rule means that anyone injured in a car accident must seek medical attention within 14 days of the accident. If they don’t do this within that time, they forfeit the right to file a claim with the insurance company.
Does PIP Have to Be Paid Back in Florida?
In Florida, you don’t have to pay back PIP when involved in an accident with your private vehicle.
Does a PIP Claim Increase My Rate Florida?
If you properly and legally use your PIP insurance after filing a claim in Florida, your rate should not increase.
Does Florida PIP Cover Lost Wages?
Florida PIP covers lost wages at only 60% of your total normal wage amount and only up to $10,000.
Does PIP Cover Passengers in Florida?
In Florida, PIP covers passengers in an accident up to $10,000 per person.
How Much Does PIP Cost in Florida?
On average, Florida PIP coverage costs $400 in premiums.
Who Gets the PIP Check in Florida?
If a person is killed in a car accident in Florida, their surviving family members, namely, their spouse, children or parents, receive the PIP check.
Does PIP Cover Car Damage?
PIP does not cover damages to your vehicle after a car accident. It only covers medical expenses, lost wages, death and funeral expenses.
What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Required in Florida?
In Florida, the minimum car insurance requirements are at least $10,000 in PIP coverage and $10,000 in PDL coverage.
Who Gets the PIP Check in Florida?
Anyone considered a survivor of someone killed in a Florida car accident gets the PIP check.
Does PIP Cover Car Damage?
PIP does not cover car damage.
What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Required in Florida?
Florida requires all drivers to carry at least $10,000 in PIP and $10,000 in PDL with their insurance in Florida.