Getting into a car accident creates serious frustrations, not to mention actual pain. But you may also need to get a copy of your police accident report, which can be harder than you might think.
If you have suffered injuries because of someone else’s negligence, you should not have to pay a dime to get better. You need to speak with a trusted Florida car accident lawyer right away. Your lawyer may be able to help you get the compensation you need to get your life back on track.
Information Needed to Get a Car Accident Report
To get a copy of your police accident report, you may need the following information:
- The case number
- The date and time of the accident
- The location of the accident
- The name of one of the drivers involved in the accident
That’s right, there’s a fee in Florida to get a copy of the report detailing what happened in your car accident. It’s not much, and it varies based on the agency that filed your report, but it still adds frustration.
For a free legal consultation, call 321-503-4014
You Need to Make Your Request to the Right Office
To get your report, you also need to know which office filed the accident report. For example, the city of Melbourne won’t have access to reports filed from the Brevard County Sheriff’s Office, and vice versa. You need to know which police agency responded to your accident so you know which office to contact to get the report.
Many times, officers who respond to the scene of the crash will give you a business card or some other identifying information. This can lead you in the right direction to get your police report. If your accident happened on any Florida interstate and most state highways, even inside city limits, the Florida Highway Patrol (FHP) may have jurisdiction. You can request a report from the FHP online.
In Florida, accident reports are not public record until 60 days after the crash. To get a police accident report before those 60 days are up, you may also need to complete an affidavit, swearing that you were involved in the crash and need a copy of the report.
Accident Reports are Not Required, But They’re a Good Idea
If your accident did not involve any injuries, you are not required to report the crash. However, it’s still a good idea because it documents the accident, who was involved, and gives the police a chance to question the other driver, who may be under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Besides that, you may have injuries that do not appear until later. While Florida law gives you ten days after an accident to file a report, if you call the police from the accident scene, they can document what occurred.
If you suffered injuries in the accident, you need to call 911. Not only will the police come and document the accident, so will emergency medical personnel. Your most important priority is making sure that you, and everyone else involved in the accident, are safe.
Click to contact our personal injury lawyers today
Filing for Compensation After Your Florida Car Accident
While it may seem like a hassle to get a copy of your police accident report, you need to get one, and your lawyer can help you obtain one. The police accident report will contain detailed and objective information about how the accident occurred, when, where, and who was involved. Even though the report may not assign blame, it will allow your legal team to identify and speak with witnesses who can provide the details of what happened. The sooner this happens, the better, because witnesses do forget.
The point of collecting all of this information is to compile evidence against the other driver and work to hold them liable for the accident where you have suffered injuries. Your lawyer may seek compensation for the following things if you file a personal injury claim against the other driver:
- Pain and suffering
- Emotional distress
- Lost income
- Lost earning potential
- Loss of companionship
- Loss of life enjoyment
- Present and future medical expenses
- Rehabilitation costs
How Much Compensation Can You Get for a Florida Car Accident?
Most car accident injury victims greatly underestimate the amount of money they need to recover to avoid paying a dime out of pocket. This is why you should speak with a Florida car accident injury lawyer as soon as possible. An attorney can help you estimate your future medical expenses and financial losses.
Under Florida law, you only have four years from the date of your accident to file a personal injury claim. The time may seem long, however, consider all the hurdles you may have to overcome:
- Extended hospital stays
- Multiple surgeries
- Long periods of time out of work
- In facility rehabilitation
- In-home care
The longer you’re out of work, the more financial difficulties you may face. But because they relate to your car accident, covering those losses should be the at-fault driver’s responsibility, not yours. Your legal team can help you hold that person responsible and work to collect maximum compensation.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
At Andrew Pickett Law, We Get Results
When you get injured in a car accident, you need to know that someone has your back. At Andrew Pickett Law, we’ve helped many car accident victims like you recover maximum compensation for their injuries. While no amount of money will take away your suffering, it will help ensure you don’t pay a penny out of your own pocket for your injuries.
Partnering with us gives you access to a legal team who works diligently to investigate your accident and work to get you every dollar necessary. We guide you through the complex legal process to help you get better and get back to your regular life as quickly as possible.
Contact an Attorney at Andrew Pickett Law Today
Your choice of attorney can make a difference in your car accident injury claim. From getting the police accident report for you to aggressively negotiating with the at-fault driver’s insurance company, your lawyer can take the legal burden off your shoulders, letting you focus on getting better.
Contact Andrew Pickett Law today to learn more about how we can help you recover.
Call or text 321-503-4014 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form