In no-fault states, Property Damage Liability (PDL) insurance covers the damage you cause to another person’s vehicle in the event of an accident. According to the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV), Florida requires drivers to carry a minimum of $10,000 in PDL.
Additionally, Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance pays for each driver’s injuries after a collision. If your injuries meet a certain threshold, you can file a third-party liability claim with the responsible driver’s insurance provider. You can also file a personal injury lawsuit against the responsible driver themselves.
Does Personal Injury Protection Cover Car Damages?
In Florida, PIP, which is also known as “no-fault insurance”, is an insurance policy that covers 80% of the medical expenses of injured drivers after a car crash, regardless of who was responsible for the accident. You can also receive up to $10,000 in coverage for injuries. This amount may vary between each no-fault state, as well as general policy fluctuations.
Under Florida Statutes § 627.736, a minimum of $10,000 in PIP is required to register four-wheeled automobiles in Florida. The policy, however, does not cover car damage.
Drivers will need collision insurance to cover damages to their car after an accident. Conversely, if they are responsible for the accident, they will use their Property Damage Liability (PDL) insurance to cover damages to the other driver’s vehicle.
For a free legal consultation, call 321-503-4014
What Is Property Damage Liability Insurance?
As previously stated, property damage liability insurance is a policy that covers the damage caused to the other driver’s automobile if you are responsible for the collision. A minimum of $10,000 of this policy is required along with PIP to register a vehicle in Florida.
Suppose the responsible party’s current PDL is not enough to completely cover the other driver’s expenses, then, depending on their other insurance policies. In that case, they may have to pay the remaining amount out-of-pocket. The victim would then have to go through their own collision coverage to repair their vehicle or file a lawsuit against the other driver if they were at fault.
What If the At-Fault Party Doesn’t Have Insurance?
If the liable driver does not have insurance, the victim can look to their insurance policies for coverage, when applicable. In some scenarios, the victim can still pursue damages through a property damage claim.
What is Collision Insurance?
Collision insurance provides coverage in the event of any damage done to your car after any sort of crash, whether or not you were the cause of the collision.
Unlike personal injury protection or property damage liability, it is not mandatory to have collision coverage in the state of Florida. However, this coverage can help you avoid potential out-of-pocket expenses for your vehicle after a crash.
How to Obtain Collision Insurance
Collision insurance can sometimes be a requirement if you are purchasing your car under a lease, but it is an otherwise optional coverage that you should consider when purchasing a car. Collision coverage is available from your auto insurance provider, and you will pay a monthly premium for the insurance.
With this coverage, if you are in any sort of accident, regardless of fault, you will pay a deductible, and the insurance company will cover the rest of the costs of your car damages.
Lower deductibles will typically be more costly per month, but pricing overall will depend on factors such as your driver history and the current value of your vehicle. Regardless of pricing, however, having this coverage can potentially save you thousands of dollars in expenses.
Filing a Property Damage Claim
Depending on the circumstances of a crash, you may want to file a property damage claim with your insurance company.
During this process, you’ll be working with an insurance adjuster who will collect information on your case to evaluate and determine the amount of coverage you should be provided. If your damages exceed your coverage, you can go through your uninsured/underinsured coverage if you have it or file a lawsuit against the at-fault driver.
It should be noted that a property damage claim covers vehicular damage only. If injuries are a factor, you will need to file a personal injury claim separately.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Filing a Personal Injury Claim
In addition to car damages, you may have sustained injuries from the car crash caused by the reckless driver. If this is the case, then we encourage you to file a personal injury claim.
Depending on your injuries, your PIP may not be able to cover all of your medical expenses. If you suffered serious injuries that meet the state’s threshold, you can file a third-party liability claim to seek your losses.
Let’s Get to Work on Your No-Fault Claim in Florida
Whether you’re filing a claim against someone responsible for your accident or negotiating with an insurance company to pay for your expenses, you’ll want experienced legal help that knows how to get the amount you need for your troubles.
Contact us today at Andrew Pickett Law, PLLC for a free evaluation, and we’ll get to work on your case right away.